Years ago, when we first got cable TV in Australia, one of the draw-cards was that there were no adverts on cable. Unfortunately, this has now changed. I flicked through the cable and free-to-air TV channels last night and saw a lot of adverts and not many programs.

My only escape, apart from our trusty DVD collection is the ABC. Fortunately, they have many fine programs, and we don’t even have to pay for the privilege, unlike the UK and their BBC TV license.

My computer used to be a safe, ad-free place, but now Facebook has adverts, so does YouTube, and almost everywhere I look online, someone wants my money.

My letter box spews forth a million more temptations. In the past two days I’ve received two free newspapers full of adverts, and if those weren’t enough, there were brochures inside those newspapers. I also got two tightly bound rolls of paper, yielding another thirty pieces of junk mail. Add to that; commercial TV and radio, the internet, and the odd, uninvited email, and I am drowning in advertising.

I’m reminded of the persistent Sam I Am of Dr Seuss’ Green Eggs And Ham, with a few liberties taken with the original words:

 

 

I would not like it here or there.
I would not like it anywhere.
I do not like junk mail and spam
I do not want it Spam I Am!

Unlike the outcome of the book, Spam I Am will not win me over with his constant nagging. Apart from the fact that I’ve got no money to spare, I want to make a stand against it on principle.

I am so irritated by the plethora of pamphlets and the abundance of advertising that I am going to buy a nice ‘NO JUNK MAIL’ sticker for my letter box. Perhaps if enough of us do this we can eventually cut down on the huge amount of  paper jammed into letter boxes every year. Let’s face it, most of it goes straight into the recycle bin without even being read! Businesses have enough outlets to peddle their wares, they do not need to invade our letter boxes too.

Now having read over all that, I think it’s official: I’ve turned into a grumpy old woman.

